Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Discover the best free computer help!
Learn more about Geeks to Go by taking the tour. Spyware, virus, trojan, fake security or privacy alerts? Read the malware cleaning guide.
      
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Does anyone know what this file is? copy.cab
jimbo123
post Apr 11 2008, 01:55 PM
Post #1


Member
**
Posts: 23
OS: XP



Hello,
I ran a AVG antivirus scan tuesday and it found a trojan horse PSW.OnlineGames.AJVH in this file C:\hp\drivers\hpiz423\setup\copy\copy.cab and it could not remove it cause it said it was a embedded object so i posted a topic in the malware forum. But today i updated my AVG and did a scan of that file and it did not find anything w00t.gif . So i am thinking it was another false alert. So my question is, is that file fine to have on my computer? And should i just ask to have my malware topic closed so i dont waste any of the helpers time because i am not having any problems with my PC?

Thank you for any help smile.gif

Sorry if this is the wrong spot for this question.

This post has been edited by jimbo123: Apr 11 2008, 01:57 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ztruker
post Apr 11 2008, 06:46 PM
Post #2


Member 2k
Group Icon
Posts: 2,377
From: Space Coast
OS: XP Pro + SP2



Sounds like a false positive to me. Try one of the online AV scanners, just to make sure.

All these scanners require you to use Internet Explorer because they need to install an ActiveX component to run the scan.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jimbo123
post Apr 11 2008, 10:41 PM
Post #3


Member
**
Posts: 23
OS: XP



Hello Ztruker

Thank you for your help, thats what i wanted to here(the false alert) laughing.gif.
Just to let you know the day AVG found that trojan i ran 2 online scans, the one Panda active scan 2.0 and the other Kaspersky and both of them found nothing.And i also uploaded the file to one of those sites where they scan the file with all kinds of antivirus scanners and only 2 of them found anything. AVG and norman(norman called it a W32/OnLineGames.AUFD).
So just to make clear you think that it was just a false alert?And if so should i just ask for my malware topic to be closed?(i dont see anything wrong with my PC)

And one other thing if would not mind, do you know what that file does?
Thank you very much for your help thumbsup.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ztruker
post Apr 13 2008, 06:45 PM
Post #4


Member 2k
Group Icon
Posts: 2,377
From: Space Coast
OS: XP Pro + SP2



From the path it was in it has something to do with an HP product, printer, scanner, All-in-one. I couldn't find anything specific about it on the HP web site though. If you have the installation CD for your HP product(s) you could scan them for copy.* and see what you find.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 

Collapse

> Similar Topics

    Topic Title Replies / Views Topic Information
No New Posts   4 / 2,613 8th November 2007 - 04:59 PM
stephen-russell@comcast.net started - last by 1101doc
No New Posts   3 / 219 16th June 2006 - 10:50 PM
happyrock started - last by Jacee
No New Posts   5 / 182 10th December 2006 - 02:52 PM
SuperSam started - last by kewal2913d`
No new   22 / 1,233 11th April 2008 - 05:38 AM
cateyest started - last by ScHwErV

RSS Time is now: 22nd November 2008 - 06:55 AM
Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. The forum is run by volunteers who donate their time and expertise. We make every attempt to ensure that the help and advice posted is accurate and will not cause harm to your computer. However, we do not guarantee that they are accurate and they are to be used at your own risk.