Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need Help Troubleshooting Startup Errors

• Please log in to reply

The_Legend

The_Legend

• PipPip
  • 12 posts
Hey all. Here's the deal:

I have a custom built computer that I've been using for two years now, never had a software problem.
I'm running on:
ABIT KV8 Pro Motherboard
1 GIG Kingston RAM
Athlon 64 Processor 3200+
ATI Radeon x800 Pro Video Card

Symptoms:
When I attempt to start my computer in normal mode it enters an infinite loop of attempted start ups. I have verbose mode turned on, so the last thing that shows on the screen before boot up starts over is a verification that the file system has been checked and that there are no errors.
When I turned off "automatically restart after failed attempt" I got a STOP code of 0x00000050 (PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA) followed by four more STOP codes in parantheses that vary.
The system then performed a memory dump.

What I did last:
I got home from college and my parents have just installed FIOS and a new wireless router, so I needed to install a wireless card. After I installed it properly, I was frustrated with how slow and buggy it was, so I uninstalled it. That was the last time my computer was in normal mode; since then it won't start up in normal mode.
I also installed updated drivers for my video card during that bootup

Other Details:
Because this was custom built i dont have an installation cd for windows xp. If necessary i can scrounge one up in my family.