Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

home network. how, what, etc...

• Please log in to reply

Caine

Caine

• PipPipPip
  • 123 posts
I have one pc with broadband access, and would like to connect another upstairs so they can at least share files. I'm not sure whether giving them both access to the internet will increase the basic broadband bill from my ISP, so until I'm up to date on this point I'm not fussed about broadband for both. Could I get a run down on what I need please?
I'm not a complete newbie on the pc, but relatively understandable would be nice (if you know what i mean). ;) Thanks! :tazz:

Advertisements

Hawker

Hawker

• PipPip
  • 91 posts
you need to run the network wizard, under control panel/network connections- give each computer a name of its own, and change the line that reads MSHOME to whatever you want your network name to be. and no, setting up a network isnt going to crank your bill up....its one conection to the house. restart after you have done this, and open up my network places in the start menu, and click workgroup computers. you should see the other computer.

Caine

Caine

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 123 posts
Thanks for the reply Hawker, and I'll get to that step soon hopefully. Hmm, maybe the jargon could come down just a tad though please? ;) It seems the term "newbie" is relative. Maybe hand puppets? :tazz: