Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

VB number permutation calculator

• Please log in to reply

centipede

centipede

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hi there,

I'm not a programmer but was wondering if anyone knows if it is possible to write a program (eg. VB in Excel) so that you can input a long list of numbers in one column and then another number that is the total of SOME of those numbers in another field, and then have the formula tell you which of the numbers in that list go together to make the total? We have had some amateur VB users here try to create such a calculator, without success. Any ideas would be greatly appreciate.

email: Removed e-mail
thanks!

Advertisements

Hai Mac

Hai Mac

• PipPipPip
  • 260 posts
Hi centipede,

Wow, sounds very weirdy, why do you need that? Maybe we can come up with a different approach to the problem. Please, also hint me on the title: " VB number permutation calculator" - I don't seem to get the connection between that and the post and we'll see what can be done about this :whistling:

Edited by Hai Mac, 11 July 2006 - 03:56 AM.

Swandog46

Swandog46

Malware Expert

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,026 posts
  • MVP
Can't be done. This problem can't be solved uniquely, UNLESS you can settle for ANY subset of numbers that will make the given sum. And even THAT problem is NP-complete.

Example: consider the following list of numbers:

1, 2, 4, 6, 7

If I tell you the subset sum is 10, you can make that two ways: 1+2+7, or 4+6. How would the program choose which one to return?