Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

the older version of bonjour cannot be removed. contact your technical

• Please log in to reply

JWnTX

JWnTX

• PipPip
  • 18 posts
I've been working with computers for twenty years now and this is the most stubborn problem I think I've faced (at least in the era of message boards--spent a whole three day weekend working out a DOS issue many years ago). I've removed QuickTime. I've removed ITunes. I've searched the hard drive, including hidden files, for any bonjour files and deleted them. And I STILL can't install ITunes 9.2.

I know this question has been answered, but the one I found was apparently answered in an email or PM. I have downloaded Autoruns and Autorunsc for Windows as the last person that had this problem was instructed. Please-for the love of Pete-HELP ME!!!

:)

Advertisements

rshaffer61

rshaffer61

• 34,114 posts
:)
Try this and see if it works:
1. Go to Start > Run > type the command below and hit OK.
“%PROGRAMFILES%\Bonjour\mDNSResponder.exe” -remove
2. Navigate to C:\Program Files\Bonjour
3. Rename the mdnsNSP.dll file in that folder to mdnsNSP.old
4. Restart your computer
5. Delete the Program Files\Bonjour folder

This is just a little different command. I found this while researching your issue.
Copy and paste the command as it needs to be exact.

JWnTX

JWnTX

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 18 posts