Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Serious help need please

• Please log in to reply

jones24

jones24

• PipPip
  • 25 posts
HI,

I recently agreed to install some active x controls because i wanted to watch some videos on a website. It was a big mistake as after that my web browser kept on opening new windows advertising many websites.

i am not a novice user, i have zonealarm pro and i installed spybot search and destroy 1.4 prior to this problem. I do not have an anti virus software, i decided to remove it after i had problems installing norton anti-virus 2005. i ran spybot s&d and it removed a number of spyware. I noticed that many programs were trying to communicate with other programs in the web as my firewall asked for permission. I prevented them from running. Back to the story of spybot s&d, i found one persistant problem that spybot detects but is unable to fix. I found out that my windows security centre has been disabled such that my anti-virus, windows firewall and update has been shut down. I get spybot to fix these problems and it shows that they have been fixed, yet when i run it again it shows that the problems still exist. My zonealarm pro has an anti-spyware feature but everytime i try and run it, it shuts down and has to restart.

I decied to call microsoft and they recommanded that i download these programs like avast anti-virus software, hijack this which records down a list of my comp's registry and e-mail it to a technican. I also installed ad-aware personal SE.