Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Hard Drive partitioning

• Please log in to reply

Paul Bennett

Paul Bennett

• PipPip
  • 40 posts
Hey guys.

Im a linux novice, and I just obtained a new version Ubuntu version 5.10 for my PC. I want to dual boot both windows and linux, so that I can run either, and wont be loosing any of my files, ect. I want to keep the windows install "as is" and add Ubuntu too.

I understand I will need to partition my hard drive to make this work? I have a few questions.

1) What program (free please) would you recommend for partitioning the drive?

2) Are some programs better than others?

3) Is there much "risk" of me screwing my computer up?

How much space should I add for the new OS? I have a 40GB HD, (but for some reason is only 33.5GB :tazz: )

4) How much space is needed for the actual install?

5) How much would you recommend for saving files, etc?

6) I also read something about needing a part for swap files or something?

Thanks so much for the help.

-Paul

Advertisements

Kemasa

Kemasa

Nobody

• Technician
  • 1,727 posts
Most, if not all, Linux distributions come with partitioning programs, such as fdisk (same name as old windoze program), sfdisk, qtparted, etc. So, I would use what comes with what you are using, although qtparted allows you to change the partition size, but first backup the data and defrag the disk.

Some programs operate in a different manner, so you could say that they are better, If you need to change the size of a partition, then you need a program to do that.