Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

2 pcs home network

• Please log in to reply

lisabel

lisabel

• PipPip
  • 24 posts
Hi!
its my first attempt of setting up a home network so i'm a newbie at this... i'll try to describe the situation at my best:

i have 2 pcs, 1 desktop wired to a router and i just added a laptop with wireless connection.
Desktop: WinXp Home - SP1 (havent updated to SP2 'cos all was fine so far and i've always been afraid of messing up!)
Laptop : WinXp Home - SP2
Router: Allnet 0277
XP firewall turned off on both pcs
ZoneAlarm Firewall active on both (hopefully with right settings)

i followed several guides on the net to configure the network but, although the network seems to work, i cannot make the file sharing work completely on both directions.

Once i setup the router i had internet working fine on both, both pcs access the net via the router.
i assigned static IPs to both pcs (procedure required to make Emule software working through the router, as found on the Emule guides)
I set names for the pcs, both belong to the same workgroup named MSHOME. I used the WinXp guided procedure on both pcs to set the home network.

the situation is now the following:
ping works correctly from both pcs, they ping eachother fine.
File sharing works only in one direction:
From the desktop i can access the laptop pc shared resources fine (if i type at command prompt: \\laptop_pc, i get the shared resources window)