Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows cannot find 'wmplayer.exe' when I boot up

• Please log in to reply

OMNIFORCE13

OMNIFORCE13

• Pip
  • 2 posts
Hello,

I'm new here and I'm an absolute PC novice, so forgive me if I am unfamiliar with jargin or procedures.

---------------------------

Anyway, every time i turn my PC on, I get the following pop-up window:

C:\WINDOWS\System32\services\wmplayer.exe
Windows cannot find 'C:\WINDOWS\System32\services\wmplayer.exe'. Make sure you
typed the name correctly and then try again. To search for a file, click the Start button,
and then click search.

I can only click "OK" on that window and then a new window immediately pops up:

DESKTOP
Could not load or run 'C:\WINDOWS\System32\services\wmplayer.exe' specified in the
registry. Make sure the file exists on your computer or remove the reference to it in
the registry.

I tried to download Windows Media 9.0, thinking that that may return the wmplayer.exe file to the folder, but it stated that I have a newer version already installed and wouldn't allow a reinstall.

I appreciate any help available.

Thanks!

Advertisements

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
Click start then run, type sfc /scannow then press enter to replace the system files, you need the XP CD.

Windows File Protection will show an on screen blue progress bar which will simply disappear when the scan is complete, reboot when it does