Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Mobile Gaming construction

• Please log in to reply

Apollus

Apollus

• Pip
  • 2 posts
As a college student, I have access to broadband in my dorm, and my desktop is specced fairly well for gaming (Pentium 4 2 gig, 512 RAM, 256 vid card). Unfortunately, it is the least portable item I own, bar none, and my house for the summer has terrible internet. So, I'm looking for a gaming system that I can take to Starbucks, Borders, etc.- places with wi-fi that can support games over the internet.

Currently, I've looked at the Alienware Aurora m7700. Specs:
Processor: AMD Athlon™ 64 FX-60 with HyperTransport and Dual Core Technology
Display: 17" WideXGA+ 1440 x 900 LCD Display
Motherboard: VIA K8T890 + VT8237A Chipset
Memory: 2GB Dual Channel DDR SO-DIMM at 400MHz - 2 x 1024MB
Video/Graphics Card: 256MB NVidia® GeForce™ Go 6800 Ultra
Hard Drive: Extreme Performance (RAID 0) - 160GB (80GB x 2) 5400 RPM SATA

Cost- approx. $4500

And also the Monarch Hornet Pro. Specs:
Motherboard: 110642 - Asus A8N-VM CSM GeForce 6150
Processor: 120305 - AMD Opteron 185 Dual-Core 2.6GHz
Memory: 140178 - DDR (400) 3200 - 1 GB (2 pcs 512) Corsair
Hard Drive: 150614 - SATA - Seagate (3120827AS) 120 GB/7200-RP
Video Card: 190281 - Asus GeForce 7900 GT 256MB DDR3/PCI-E/HDT
ViewSonic 19" VP930B Thinedge HDTV LCD Flat Panel

Cost- approx. $3500