Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

computer very slow and scans show nothing

• Please log in to reply

chel-dufc

chel-dufc

• PipPip
  • 22 posts
Hi Im fairly new at computing but will try to describe problem as best i can. Despite using Mcafee security centre and now avg free alongwith scafee firewall and cwshredder my comp is running very slow and has gone off with blue screen a few times. Im using xp pro and mozilla firefox. Can you help?

Advertisements

chel-dufc

chel-dufc

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 22 posts
this is a shared computer with 3 users. Fast user switching was enabled but no longer works. Everything seems to take ages, we see the egg timer thing quite a lot and the torch thing lookingfor things we are trying to open. Thanks

computerwiz12890

computerwiz12890

Fixer-upper guy

• Retired Staff
  • 1,807 posts
Hello and welcome to Geeks to Go.

1st thing: You are using 2 Anti-virus programs (AVG and McAfee). This will cause conflicts and slow-downs. Remove 1 of them (Personally, I dislike them both. I prefer Kaspersky, or if you're looking for something free, Avast. But some experts like AVG, and some like McAfee...)

2nd thing: How much RAM do you have? How fast is your processor? And how much free space do you have available on your hard drive?

3rd thing: Please download and run hijackthis Do a scan and then save a log. Take the log and ATTACH IT (do not post) to your next post.