Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Dual column layout, table/css/image map issues

• Please log in to reply

my411

my411

• Pip
  • 3 posts
I'm not a developer, but tasked with making sure my client's website is developed properly. (The developer and graphics designer were hired before I came to the project, work together regularly, and resist my presence.) The developer insists certain things can't be done, though they seem straightforward, are commonly used, and I've sent multiple examples of each.

All the requests were in initial specs, which he ignored and either didn't implement or expects more money to do so. For example, he calls the 2-level horizontal navigation "non-standard," and says it's impossible to insert anything but photos in the "non-standard" right column of the two-column layout.

The basic design is a horizontal 2-level menu/submenu; body is two-column layout with right column about 1/3 of total screen width. One section of the site (Properties pages) has a 3-column layout with a third-level vertical navigation. www.zackproperties.com

Developer created a table with rows for left and right columns within it; has an "overflow" in the right column. Placed photos into the right column OK, as well as "print page" and "email page" scripts (he's fond of .asp). Issues: