Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

My new build appears dead newbie needs advise

• Please log in to reply

maxxed

maxxed

• Pip
  • 4 posts
I've cross posted this on another forum, forgive me but I'm new to computer forums and I'm not sure which is the most appropriate for my problem. I appreciate any input.

I did my first build, and was nervous about it. I did upgrades and cleaned my old computer all the time so I'm not unfamiliar with the insides, I was more nervous about setting bios and not knowing what to expect the first time I turned on a new board.

The parts I got were listed as a barebone system so I figured they would play nice together, I just ordered the individual stuff and a larger memory (same type) and used my old case. The build itself was smooth aside from having to hack saw the metal bracket adapter that screws between the power supply and case because it had a different layout.

Turned it on when I was finished and got nothing. The power led comes on (but doesn't turn off when I press the button), I hooked up a led keyboard and it lights. Other than that it appears dead, no fan action, and no screen signal. There are no onboard graphics so I put in an old graphics card (g-force 2mx). I originally hooked up my old 8o gig hd, when I got nothing I hooked up a new hd that had not been partitioned yet just to see what would happen, nothing. (Does the hard drive have to be partitioned first?)