Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Windows Small Business Server 2003 Basic Firewall

• Please log in to reply

NPR Man

NPR Man

• Pip
  • 7 posts
Hello,

I am a consultant working with a company that uses Nortel Contivity client. I am having many problems using this VPN client.

My normal setup which has worked with several VPN clients including Nortel, is 8 PCs including 1 SBS and 1 W2k3 server are all attached to a switch. On the SBS, I have dual NICs, one for internal and one for external in between them is the Basic firewall and NAT. Usually I also have an Edimax dual WAN router on the external NIC with Cable on one WAN and DSL on the other. This configuration has served me well, the bandwidth aggregation is great and if one or the other of my ISPs went down over the last 3 years, I never noticed.

Anyhow I am never able to connect with the Nortel client to this particular VPN site. I always get "Remote Host not Responding". By the way this is a client PC on the network, not the server I am trying to connect with. If I connect the DSL directly to this client PC, the VPN works (not a good situation though). If I connect the client PC to the router and ofcourse the WANs are connected as normal. The VPN works this way also.