Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

nothing is working!

• Please log in to reply

???

???

• Pip
  • 6 posts
hi guys im a newbie that really needs help since two days ago ive had a problem with my pc i turn it on but nothing seems to run for example i click on windows explorer in desktop and i get a message box saying "windows cannot open this file" with options 1.use web service to find the app program or 2.select program from a list. im suspecting its a virus even my norton anti virus dont work.
What can i do can someone please help.
Note: {on the login screen before desktop apears i get a message box with box characters and an ok button. it wont sart untill i click ok}

Advertisements

computerwiz12890

computerwiz12890

Fixer-upper guy

• Retired Staff
  • 1,807 posts
Hello and welcome to Geeks to Go.

Use a computer that works, such as the one you are on right now, to download hijackthis. Save it to a floppy disk or flash drive so you can transfer it to the problematic computer.

Start the computer with the problem into Safe Mode. See here for instructions if you don't know how.

Once you are in Safe Mode, please copy HijackThis onto the computer and run it. Do a scan and then save a log. Take the log and ATTACH IT (do not post) to your next post.

We do not like to post hijackthis logs in sections other than the malware forum as we do not want to encourage people to post malware issues in this forum.