Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Visual Logic software and HELP! needed

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

kgabbard

kgabbard

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hello,

I'm a college student taking Programming Design and Logic course. The class uses VisualLogic for it's main source of logic design and later we'll use VB.NET. I am working on a problem which isn't very diffucult, but I can't seem to get a grasp on it. It reads:

"Write a program that reads in a list of positive intergers from the user until the user enters the value -1 as a sentinel. At that time, the program should display the largest value in the input list."

I have no problem figuring the problem with averaging the numbers input, but I can't seem to recall how to make the program recognize the largest number entered, esp. when using a pre-test while loop because the program just keeps going until -1 is entered. It doesn't seem that there is anything to compare it to, via an if statement. I would love it is somebody could help me. Thanks!

Kristin

Advertisements

StephenL

StephenL

• PipPip
  • 12 posts
Each time a user enters a positve integer you could compare it to a temporary maximum entered value variable or store. So that when -1 is entered the maximum number can then be called from the temporary variable.

int Max_Num = 0

While (num entered != -1)
if num entered > Max_Num
store num entered in Max_Num
end while

Display Max_Num

PS: apologies for the quick & poor psuedo code