Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

Question on Motherboards

• Please log in to reply

jturnerdeere

jturnerdeere

• PipPip
  • 10 posts
My Dell Optiplex GX280 went down and after talking with tech support, they are going to install a new motherboard & heatsink/fan. My question is in regards to the motherboard. Once they replace that motherboard, will I lose everything (programs, files, etc) on my computer??? I wasn't for sure as I'm a newbie on technical stuff on the inside of the computer.

Any help is greatly appreciated!!

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Administrator
  • 26,019 posts
  • MVP
if they replace the board with the exact same model as the one that's currently in there (which is what they should be doing as that's dells standard practice) then all should be fine....if they put in a different motherboard...then there is a likelyhood that windows will not boot...that doesn't mean that you've lost everything...it just means it may be difficult to get everything working perfectly...if they are sending a tech out to do this hardware replacement...make sure to have the tech verify that the motherboard is the exact same model as the original...if it's not the same model....then there's a question....do you have an actual xp cd? or just a dell recovery cd?

jturnerdeere

jturnerdeere

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts