Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Help with choosing new parts

• Please log in to reply

spyke01

spyke01

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Hey guys, i have a fw questions for you. Ive been building boxes since i can remember, but its been getting more and more expensive, and im trying to stay cheap for now.

A little background on me: I am a web designer and gamer. I use PhotoShop CS 2 daily, and am constantly multi-tasking. It's not unusual for me to have over 40 windows up at once. My current system is dieing quickly, and i want to upgrade. Some of the games i plan to play in my offtime will be: Fable, Oblivion, Unreal2, UT2004 GOTYE.

I was thinking about getting a AMD X2 and a SLIx16 Motherboard with a 300GB SATA hdd, maybe 2 in a mirrored array, i also want at least 1GB memory and a nice modular power supply.

Heres my questions, should i spend the extra money on an X2 or should i just get the 64 4800+? Also, i use only nvidia graphicxs cards, so should i get a 6600, 6800, 7600, or 7800 pci-x videocard? I'm kinda behind on my videocard stats, so i really need some help here guys. Im needig to keep under about $850 for these parts.

Advertisements

warriorscot

warriorscot

Member 5k

• Retired Staff
  • 8,889 posts