Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Computer keeps freezing during games

• Please log in to reply

strickter

strickter

• PipPip
  • 15 posts
All right heres the deal, about a week ago my computer started freezing while I was playing diablo 2. So I just started playing other games, and all was fine until yesterday then they started to freeze up too.

The wierd thing is it only happens with games, everything else works fine. And it always happens about the same amount of time into the game.

Now I'm not sure what you may need to help me so let me know.

Advertisements

blakops

blakops

• Pip
  • 5 posts
that cud b a few things. wut kind of appz do u have runnin in the backgroung (sys. tray, processes etc.)?

strickter

strickter

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
I usally close out of all the ones that arent necessary for my computer to run.

KillaOR

KillaOR

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Yer make sure you have program like limewire or Emule shut down same with virus scanners is you have scheduled scans. and if your playing online firewall has to be off, obviously.

strickter

strickter

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts
I do all this stuff and its not with just online games, it happens when playing oblivion, or C & C etc.

Thunderbird1988

Thunderbird1988

Member 2k

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,416 posts
if you have not done it already, try a diskfragmentation, maybe it will help. Click on start>all programs>accesoires>systemtools>diskfragmenter

Thunderbird1988

strickter

strickter

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 15 posts