Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

So, something HAS to be wrong with my computer.

• Please log in to reply

nick_mi

nick_mi

• PipPipPip
  • 272 posts
Alright, I have a dell inspiron|1000

So, awhile ago my computer was having lots of problems, couldn't fix it so I reformatted. Well, I started playing games(mainly warcraft 3) and it would start running slow. Eventually my emulator(GBA) started running slow, and now even movies are running slow.

I don't know what's going on, my computer is clean, I believe it has something to do with my computer overheating. I used to always play it on the carpet, couch, etc(was always too poor to afford a desk :whistling:)

Anyways, I always noticed my computer would run fat when it's shut down and cooled off after I started it up. So I built a lapboard that has a strip across the back so it elevates my laptop(Who puts a fan on the bottom, honestly). So after vaccuming around the vents, and still no improvement, I brought out my laptop panel, because I was going to take off the cover and clean the fan inside(to no avail, way too many screws, and I didn't want to mess things up.) Well, while reading I learned that you're not supposed to leave your comp on when it's in it's breifcase. I've done that about 5 times over the course of my having this laptop.

So, what I am wondering is, is my laptop done for with gaming, or am I missing something?

Advertisements

Sahil Bajaj

Sahil Bajaj

• PipPip
  • 53 posts
Hey,