Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Connecting Verizon modem/router to cable modem?

• Please log in to reply

drfathom

drfathom

• PipPip
  • 14 posts
Greetings, all...Hope someone can help with this---it's somewhat urgent, and I'm rather new to networking.

We recently left Verizon DSL service in the dust (today, in fact) in favor of Comcast Cable access. It's working great on our main PC, since you ask. :whistling:

Now I have another problem. I could only afford one cable modem, but I need to be able to share the cable access with our second PC in the basement. We still have the Westell Versalink 327W modem/router from when we were on Verizon access, so that's what I have to work with.

A couple of theories for y'all to shoot holes in, heh...

1) Can I connect the Ethernet line coming from the cable modem to the Westell, then connect the Westell to BOTH computers with Ethernet lines from two of its other three Ethernet jacks?

2) Can I keep the main PC connected to the cable modem as-is AND connect the second PC to the cable modem by way of the USB ports (provided, of course, that I can find a USB line long enough)?

Any thoughts on this would be very helpful. We use both PCs to work online, so there is some urgency here lest we lose work time on the second one.

Thanks to all for your kind consideration---

Brian

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP