Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Just finished building a new system

• Please log in to reply

victim of a down

victim of a down

• PipPip
  • 16 posts
I'm thinking it's my PSU. I have a Cooler Master Extreme Power 430W PMSR/P that has to power:

ASUS A8N-SLI Premium
AMD Athlon 64X2 4200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu LED heatsink/fan
Corsair XMS2gb (1gb x 2) RAM
eVGA Geforce 7600GS
WD Caviar 80gb HDD
WD Caviar 500gbHDD
BenQ 1650 dvd drive
BenQ 5232 cd drive (although I unhooked this to see if maybe too many things were plugged in)
a 56k modem
Plus, the 120mm and 80mm fans in my Centurion 5 case.

Can the PSU not handle this? When I plug it in, I can hear a sort of clicking noise inside. Also, in the back, there's the option of 115/230W, and I left it at 115W. I'm scared I'm going to fry something if I mess with it too much. Any ideas?

Advertisements

HaraldR

HaraldR

• PipPipPip
  • 193 posts
the switch on the psu is voltage not wattage either for 115 volts AC or 230,If your local power is 11o-120 then no harm done however if like me you have 220-240 volts AC then you certainly have done considerable damage to the power supply(cooked it)

Edited by HaraldR, 02 June 2006 - 05:35 AM.

victim of a down

victim of a down

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 16 posts
I don't really know what that means. I did realize that wasn't in watts after I posted, my mistake. So, by local power do you mean my PSU or my homes power (as in from the outlets?) because that would be 120v.

HaraldR

HaraldR

• PipPipPip
  • 193 posts