Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Printer Sharing on home network

• Please log in to reply

skselders

skselders

• Pip
  • 5 posts
Good morning,

I am VERY new to networking, so hope I am in the right spot and that you can (patiently) help me...

I have a desktop PC, and I have a wireless laptop. I have a Laser printer that is attached via parallel port to the desktop PC.

I thought I could just click on printer sharing and print from my laptop to that printer and it would merrily print out but that doesn't happen.

Both are running windows xp. I am on dsl, and use a Netgear wireless router WGR614 v6 to connect both computers to the internet. A friend suggested that I now need to buy a printer router too, a little item I really can't afford just now. Others have said I don't need a printer router, just need to have the printer and the desktop PC on at the same time as the laptop. I right-clicked on the printer and told it to share. Alas and alack, it didn't.

Clearly I'm doing something wrong. Any ideas?

Thank you in advance.

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP
http://www.geekstogo...ng-t102163.html give that a read

skselders

skselders

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Thank you - I did read it, printed it, read it again, and still no print from the laptop.

sarahw

sarahw

Malware Staff

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,781 posts
Some routers have ports for the printer, but if it's conneceted via parralel port the computer it would have to be on.