Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Total Newb seeking help in building a machine

• Please log in to reply

apritske

apritske

• PipPip
  • 45 posts
Alright,

I'm absolutely ignorant about computer hardware - I mean completely ignorant, however, I've been saving money and I'd like to try and build a machine.

My budget is about $2500 to 3000 and I am NOT in a hurry - in other words I am ready, willing, and interested in learning about how to buy and build properly.

I want to end up with a solid workhorse of a machine that can also handle the most demanding games on the market. I am also going to need at least a 20" monitor along with said PC.

I would like to know if anyone can point me in the direction of a good source of primary information about how to assemble hardware. Also, any and all specific recommendations about hardware would be greatly appreciated. Like I said, I have some money to spend, so I'd like to get the best for up to 3000.

Thanks, and pardon me for being so clueless.

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
Heres some good reading.

http://www.pcmech.com/byopc/

A good way to understand different hardware.

http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/

Tom's Hardware has always been a premium website for builders.

http://www.tomshardw...ng_rig_for_720/

These ought to keep you busy while you wait until the conroe's come out to build your own rig. Look up reviews on the intel conroe processor in a google search and you will know why i say to wait a little while to build a puter.