Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

LOCKED OUT (URGENT HELP NEEDED)

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

cheyenne 09

cheyenne 09

Member 1K

• PipPipPipPip
  • 1,258 posts
:whistling: I have a dell computer model 8300/8300n and have error codes 0f00:0244 msg:block 111607159:uncorrectable data error or media is write protected. i am new to this and have been locked out by windows now for over a month and can only use my dell in safe mode i cannot use it to go online or anything else i have been told by dell to update my bios with the latest version and install video driver and reinstall the chipset driver now i have these updates on cd-rom disc but i cannot install these in safe mode got a genuine advantage notification that started this all going wrong my dell came with a preinstalled windows xp home edition i also wish to reinstall my preinstalled version of winsows xp home edition but someone i trusted to help me with these problems installed another version of windows xp home edition newer than my own version and my id was changed so i was locked out and i want to remove this and start again i am using a computer that i have borrowed and it has to go back really soon i have just found out that some this because of the windows genuine advantage notification how can i disable this and can i do this in safe mode any help would be great.Thank you

Cheyenne 09

Edited by cheyenne 09, 28 June 2006 - 06:12 AM.

Advertisements

dsenette

dsenette

Je suis Napoléon!

• Community Leader
  • 26,047 posts
  • MVP