Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Print Spooler Not Running; Cleanspl Utility Will Not Work

• Please log in to reply

rmcw

rmcw

• Pip
  • 7 posts
I need help really badly.

1. Since Saturday, July 1, 2006, my printer is not working because my print spooler won't run. I started to get the Spooler Subsystem App error message.

The print spoolers are not running and the printers have disappeared in the Printers and Faxes section of the Control Panel. I am not experienced and do not want to try to work with the registry. So, pursuant to instructions on Microsoft MVP Bruce Sanderson's webpage, http://members.shaw....nterDrivers.htm, and with the suggestion of Cari, Microsoft MVP, I downloaded Windows 2003 Resource Kit Tools and attempted to run the cleanspl utility.

It did not work. After 2 days of trying to find out what my Computer Name was (right click on My Computer, Properties, Computer Name is a tab), I put my computer name in the dialogue box of the cleanspl utility and clicked on Clean Spool. Another dialogue box showed up which said as follows:

"Unable to enumerate the files in the directory. '\\computer name(it named the name of my computer)\C$\Windows\system32\spool\Printers' matching the filter *.spl. The network location cannot be reached. For information about network troubleshooting, see Windows Help. The specified directory cannot be validated."

2. I tried a System Restore twice last night (July 3) and it would not complete the system restore. I do not know why.