Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

98 computer

• Please log in to reply

nondaj

nondaj

• PipPipPip
  • 412 posts
Attached File  new_98.doc   44KB   34 downloadsI have an old win XP computer that I had intended to turn into a 98 since I have a new Dell.

My tech claims that in order to do so would take replacing some parts for the old PC to turn it into a 98 might cost more than buying a refurbished PC. Attached is his recommendation for a refurbished PC. Can I get someone's opinion about this matter since I am not technically in the know about such things.

I just want to be able to play some of the older disc games on the 98 that the Win XP Pro system will not handle.

Thank you so much for your opinions.

Advertisements

wannabe1

wannabe1

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 16,645 posts
Hi nondaj...

Have you tried installing or running the games on the XP machine using Compatability Mode? Most older games will run on XP using this feature.

wannabe1

nondaj

nondaj

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 412 posts
Oh yes have done much of that but some games will simply not run this way. Have begun to use a program called DosBox which will configure win XP but it does take some work and effort and even then I am not finding the games to run smoothly but that maybe because of me. So this is why I am considering the 98 .

wannabe1

wannabe1

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 16,645 posts