Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Take so Long to Shut-Down

• Please log in to reply

Generation_X

Generation_X

• Pip
  • 3 posts
I'm just a newbie in this forum, and i'd like to ask something about my PC. why evrytime i turn-off or shut-down my PC, it takes a lot of minutes before it turn-off? From the time that i click the "TURN OFF", i think it takes 20-30 sec..before its totally shutdown my PC....My "OS" is winXP Pro/SP2...is there something wrong about my PC?

I already did some scanning. like scan it first with Ad-Aware SE, and then to make sure that no spyware/malware/adware will be missed by scanner, i scan again with Ewido. The last scan will be my AVG Anti-virus...and all the test or result is CLEAN and GOOD...and all my scanner is updated...

And to make things more sure that my PC is in good condition and not in bad or error, i check for some disk error and disk defrag. it 2x - 3x a week...

Is there anyway that i can speed-up shuttingdown or lessen the time it takes whenever i turn-off my PC?

I'm hoping for some advice or Tips & Tricks on how to resolve my Q?...

Thanks in advance guys & gals....

Advertisements

emery

emery

• PipPipPip
  • 583 posts
Welcome to Geekstogo Generation_X :whistling: .

Are you sure all programs are closed before you shut down your machine?

Try this:

Start>Run> type ''regedit'' <enter>

navigate to the following key:

[HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management]

Set ClearPageFileAtShutdown value to 0.

Good luck.

Edited by emery, 15 July 2006 - 01:07 AM.