Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Need Expert Opinion

• Please log in to reply

Electricatwork

Electricatwork

• Pip
  • 9 posts
I need some experts opinion to confirm what I feel is wrong with my computer. I am not an expert, but I have some experience with troubleshooting computers to a certain extent. This time I am at a loss. Two months ago, I bought a new computer for my home and brought my old computer here to work because it was bigger and better than the one we had. Its a small, family business and I thought I'd help out so they wouldn't have to purchase a new computer. I needed a larger computer for the programs I use here at work and my old computer would work just fine. I swapped it out, adding a zip drive to it from our old work computer and fired it up. It wouldn't start. I checked all the connections and everything seems to be fine. I tried to fire it up again to no avail. I decided to just keep trying and what happened is that it would just go so far and then lock up. I also heard a hissing inside the computer, which I feel originated around the RAM or Video card. I didn't hear any beeps. About the fifth time, the computer started up and would work all day with no problem. I was told to reformat it and did so, reinstalling Windows ME. Had the same problem. I was told to get rid of ME and get XP. Did that, installed it and still had the problem. A friend of mine did a diagnostic on it and found nothing wrong with it and he was puzzled. He advised that I just keep it on all the time until the problem burned itself out or