Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN DVI OR VGA AND MS TIMING ON FLAT LCD SC

• Please log in to reply

superstar

superstar

• PipPipPip
  • 718 posts
Hello I have a "SAPPHIRE RADEON 9550 256MB 128BIT" video card, and I am buying a new lcd flatscreen for the first time in my life. My video card has more than one output... as in you can connect different things on it. But I do not know exactly what can be connected as I am new to system building and such. Anyways I heard there are different kinds of connections that come with lcd flatscreens. VGA, and DVI or whatever else there is. I also heard that there are different MS (ie: millisecond) speeds, or well at least I think that is what it stands for.

My questions are:

1. What is the best choice for me when I buy an lcd flatscreen, dvi or vga? Does it even matter? I want to keep up to date with these things so I don't want to use old technology. If some dvi thing hooks up to my vid card and is newer technology than vga, than I want that. Please tell me...

2. Does it matter if a lcd flatscreen is 12ms or 8ms? Is there a big difference? I hope that means milliseconds. If so than I bet it does'nt matter. I just want to know as I watch a lot of movies on my pc, and play 3d games.

This is the lcd flatscreen I am thinking of getting:

LG LCD FLATSCREEN

Advertisements

troppo

troppo

• PipPipPip
  • 582 posts
ok first of all can you please stop using capitals in your topic titles it is considered yelling and is rude
now after my winge: