Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Video card performance/value options

• Please log in to reply

Greystoke

Greystoke

• Pip
  • 2 posts
I'm a bit of a newbie in building PCs, having only assembled two (in ten years). Embarking on a new project to assemble a replacement for my aged Pentium Pro <:whistling:> system, I have a general question on video card selection.

I've reading up on video options, and most reviews now rate cards by how well they handle Oblivion: Elder Scrolls 4. Now, I already play this game on the Xbox 360, and I'm a little disheartened to read that most people have to disable some effects in the game to get a decent frame rate in the PC version. What card(s) do people recommend for new gaming systems?

My goal is to aim towards the upper end of the price/value spectrum, and try to incorporate a reasonable upgrade path as well. I'm planning on building a AMD system, probably the Athlon 64 X2 processor and a SLI-capable motherboard. However, I'm not really looking to blow my budget on a quad-SLI configuration that becomes obsolete in six months; looking for leading edge, not bleeding edge.

Any suggestions? How have other folks dealt with the graphics handling options out there?

Thanks for all replies!

Advertisements

apritske

apritske

• PipPip
  • 45 posts