Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Please help - Computer keeps crashing

• Please log in to reply

shenny

shenny

• PipPip
  • 70 posts
I have used computers for several years, but I do not know the in and outs like many of you, so you may as well treat me as a total novice.

I turn my computer on, get rolling and within five or ten minutes, it kicks out. Just the computer itself. The lights from the Internet box stay on. For the longest time, the computer would only kick out one time each log on, but now it does it two, three or even four times.

Anyway, I recently bought a new monitor. My kid has added some games, but I have deleted them from add/remove programs. I cannot remember, however, how soon after these things happened that the compter started going haywire, but I think it was quite a while later.

I have run spybot, adaware, AVG, registry scan, nothing works.

Here is MSN's error:

"You received this message because a device driver installed on your computer caused the Windows operating system to stop unexpectedly. This type of error is referred to as a "stop error." A stop error requires you to restart your computer."

This has probably happened 500 times. Before my computer fries itself, please help me.

Thanks.

Advertisements

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
Items in blue which are underlined are clickable to give more information about the process