Posted 21 August 2006 - 11:52 PM
Posted 22 August 2006 - 12:10 AM
Posted 22 August 2006 - 12:31 AM
Files stored in the Recycle Bin in its physical location are renamed as Dxy.ext where x represents the drive name such as "c", "d" and so on, y a sequential number starting at 1 and ext being the file's original file name extension. The file names are kept as is when viewed from the main recycle bin. A hidden file is created, without an extension, called "info2". This file stores the original files' paths and file names so when the file is removed from the recycle bin and returned to its original directory, the original file name is kept as is. When the file is "deleted" the space on the disk is designated to be erased over by whatever files then are saved on the disk. For instance, if you have a picture deleted on the recycling bin, it is still technically on the physical disk until another file takes its place.
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users