Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

To use OSCommerce or Build it myself?

• Please log in to reply

Craigypoos

Craigypoos

• Pip
  • 4 posts
Hi People,

I've been asked by a mate to design a site for his new (and so far flourishing) business. He's currently only selling his products by mail order and wants a complimentary internet shop to match. I have some experience in site building having built 6 or 8 sites using HTML and CSS to give some effective results. I studied C, Unix and ADA at University a number of years ago. I have also recently built a site (for a different mate) using HTML, CSS and successfully integrated it with her Paypal account.

So, I am now stuck with a choice...

Choice A: Install osCommerce (or similar) as supplied by my web hosting company and trawl endlessly through the code making the necessary changes to get a site. I have breifly tried this and have come across a number of stumbling blocks. Firstly, I'm put off by the whole REGISTER_GLOBALS security risk thing. Secondly, the version of osCommerce supplied by my webhost seems to have some bugs in it as when I try and add new products for example the PHP code cannot find the product images etc etc. Thirdly, it does seem to be a little over the top for my mates purposes as (for example) he will only be selling his products to british market and therefore using pounds sterling as the only currency. All in all, it seems like a very tedious way to get a shop running for him.