Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Computer sometimes doesn't boot past PCI device listing

• Please log in to reply

spunos

spunos

• Pip
  • 1 posts
Hello.

I feel a little embarassed admitting this, but I'm not good at all with hardware. That's the reason I had someone else build a computer for me a couple of months ago. When it works, it works just great, but every now and then (once or twice a month or so) when I try to boot it up, it doesn't make it past the PCI device listing. I don't get an error, and it doesn't spontanically reboot either, it just hangs after listing the IRQ ports.

Whenever this happens I usually just open the case and check if all the wires are properly plugged in (they are), clean the fans a little, let it cool down for a few hours, things like that. It seems like nothing works, and then suddenly it does boot completely and everything works fine again. Or almost fine, as it usually recognizes only one of my two hard drives the first time or the first few times. And then, the next day or so, the second hard drive also makes it magic reappearance. As if nothing has ever happened.

Needless to say I'm very puzzled by all this. It's one thing for a computer to break down, but quite another to just magically repair itself again. I'm really not certain just what it is that's wrong with it.