Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

how do i clean out my computer?

• Please log in to reply

shishomiru04

shishomiru04

• PipPip
  • 41 posts
okedoke, when i first got my dell dimension 2400 i was like, whee! a new computer!- now i can surf the net!!!...little did i know that having a computer was more complicated than that, i was a noob...and being as such i may have done things or downloaded things that i didn't need or whatever, may have deleted program files thinking it would get rid of a game or program properly but it didn't becuase it still shows up in my "add or remove programs menu"...mind you i have windows xp, anywho getting to the point...i would like to safely transfer programs and games that are already installed that i want to keep out of my computer temporarily so i can do either a system resotre back to the very first day that i installed xp OR if you guys know of a program or something that will virginize my xp?.....is this possible and if it is, how do i go about doing it?

thanks,

d.c.

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
You have not mentioned a recovery cd from dell. Dell did put a program on your computer called the dell OS Recovery CD that let you make a single CD with the OS for recovery purposes. I hope you used it.