Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

OCing Athlon 2500 Barton in Abit KV7 mobo

• Please log in to reply

angry_kafir

angry_kafir

• Pip
  • 3 posts
Hi all,

I'm a newb, so thanks for your patience. Has anyone here overclocked a (multiplier-locked) Barton 2500+ on KV7? I'd like to push the FSB from 166 to 200 (I have PC3200 memory), but after I do it the system won't boot. :tazz:

Does it have to do with the core voltage to the CPU? What about the dividers? Do I need to play around with the FSB:AGP:PCI ratio or just leave it alone? And, obviously I understand it is all done gradually using MBM to monitor temps.

Thank you for your insights!

;)

P.S. I'm using ThermalTake silent boost to cool the CPU, and I'm not sure it is suitable for overclocking. This hsf is rated to handle up to XP 3200+ but my non-overclocked Barton 2500+ is already 47C at idle...

Advertisements

Doby

Doby

Member 2k

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,075 posts
Hi,

This involves a lot, first 47c at idle if it is accurate is to high to start to oc you need to get that down to 40c or lower before beginning to oc.

This temp is it in bios or a software read?

How many case fans do you have and at what location?

What is the vcore volts set at?

I will look into your ThermalTake silent boost and get back.

Also please check this out Here

I do have a KV7 and have done some oc so I may be able to help.

Rick

Doby

Doby

Member 2k

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,075 posts
One other question what bios are you running?

angry_kafir

angry_kafir

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 3 posts