Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Wireless Card question and suggestions needed!

• Please log in to reply

DragonTears78

DragonTears78

• Pip
  • 1 posts
I know my title probably doesn't help much but I have a few questions. I am a college student (NOT A GAMER) and I am going to buy a laptop for my classes which I take online. I was going through the configurations for Dell to build my own and I ran into an issue. At home I connect using SBC/AT&T Yahoo DSL (modem has wireless built in) and my fiance's work computer picks up the wireless connection so that isn't a problem. According to the requirements for using wireless with the DSL, I need an 802.11 b/g wireless card. Going through Dell, the only options were a 3945 a/g card and a new Dell Draft N Wireless. I am not wireless literate so I contacted them to ask if there was an option for b/g and the guy said a/g would not work so that I would need the Draft N Wireless. Ok, I decided to do some reading about the N Wireless and everything I have read is not good, especially about Dell, so that cancels that out. Then a friend of mine found on the Dell website that g works for b/g and a/g would work for all a/b/g! If this is true, why would the guy tell me it wouldn't? So now we are both confused and I have nobody to ask to find out the truth.