Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Geeks To Go is a helpful hub, where thousands of volunteer geeks quickly serve friendly answers and support. Check out the forums and get free advice from the experts. Register now to gain access to all of our features, it's FREE and only takes one minute. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more.

Create Account How it Works
Photo

start menu icons changed to folders.

• Please log in to reply

slippiefist

slippiefist

• Pip
  • 4 posts
i'm kind of new to computers, so please be patient.

the problem is not with the larger icons in the start menu, but all of the icons in the "all programs" list are now folders. media player, firefox, quick time, accessories, microsoft works, everything.

how do i get my icons back? please help.

Edited by slippiefist, 22 September 2006 - 03:36 PM.

Advertisements

SRX660

SRX660

motto - Just get-er-done

• Technician
  • 4,345 posts
Probably the easist method is to go to kelly's Korner and download the #117 file. Please read the howto at the top of the page to make it work.

http://www.kellys-ko...m/xp_tweaks.htm

Two others that may help with tskbar and/or desktop icons are the # 164 and the #195 on kelly's list.

SRX660

slippiefist

slippiefist

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
tried those three things, didnt fix the problem.

Retired Tech

Retired Tech

Retired Staff

• Retired Staff
  • 20,563 posts
Accessories can show like this

[attachment=10827:attachment]

Is media player the same?

slippiefist

slippiefist

• Topic Starter
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
the following icons stayed the same: internet explorer, remote assistance, windows media player, real player, all sub-menu icons