Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Which Linux os

• Please log in to reply

muhammad jamil

muhammad jamil

• PipPip
  • 78 posts
Hello
i am new to linux i want to install it but don't which is best for me (like ubunto,mandriva etc)
i have p4 dual core

Advertisements

steinjared

steinjared

• Pip
  • 9 posts
I would say Ubuntu, it is very easy to install and run if you are new to Linux.

silverbeard

silverbeard

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPip
  • 791 posts
I'm partial to SimplyMepis. I like the KDE interface and the latest with the Ubuntu core is excellent. very stable and the easiest I've installed. Set up Grub for duo-boot and worked right out of the box. One thing though is to have your partions ready to install. It took me about fifteen minutes to be up and running.

daniel_c

daniel_c

• PipPipPip
  • 360 posts
give SuSE a try.........i found it the best linux OS

muhammad jamil

muhammad jamil

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
But when i installed ubuntu it did not show desktop,but show like DOS prompt.
also i wnat to know that is linux os can play video movies in mp3 format or other codec format?
and where can i find drivers of my PC

Matt T

Matt T

• PipPipPip
  • 674 posts
What do you mean by drivers of your pc?

~Matt :-)

silverbeard

silverbeard

Trusted Tech

• PipPipPip
  • 791 posts