Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Missing or Corrupt system32 files

• Please log in to reply

shih-tzucrazy1

shih-tzucrazy1

• PipPip
  • 24 posts
I ran a scan disk before defragging my computer. Got to Phase 4 on the scan disk & stopped! Says that I have Missing or Corrupt Files in System32. I have no idea what that means. Tried to repair using my Nobilis Operating Prouct Recovery CD-ROM. I pressed 'R' for repair then I got totally confused on what to do next.
Is it possible to repair my System32 Files? If so, how do I do it ? I am new to computers & have only had mine for 6 months. I need step by step Instructions Please. I had this same problem 3 weeks ago so I took it in to the shop. He fixed it but he also wiped out alot of my files & failed to re-install my Nero & Power DVD. He said that I had a virus but couldn't tell me how or where I got it from. He charged me $80 & I really don't have the money to let him work on it again But if it is something that I can't fix I guess that I will take it in again. Any help that you can give me will be appreciated greatly! :whistling:

Advertisements

wannabe1

wannabe1

Tech Staff

• Technician
  • 16,645 posts
Hi shih-tzucrazy1...

Click Start then Run...type sfc /scannow (Note the space between sfc and /) and press "Enter". You will be asked for your installation cd, so have it handy. Wait for the scan to finish (this might take up to an hour).