Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

HELP-HOW DO I OPEN A FILE WHEN EXTENSION IS UNKNOWN

• Please log in to reply

b1caez01

b1caez01

Banned

• Banned
  • PipPipPip
  • 445 posts
I am an amateur genealogist... :help:

I was sent four PERSONAL ANCESTRAL FILES [examples as follows]

indiv3.dat.b00
indiv3.dat.b01
etc.

:whistling: Got a problem: a client sent this note below...to me with accompanying files... An internet search has not turned up any software that can analyze a file and determine how to open it by defining its extension. It is assumed by the note that the program was a PERSONAL ANCESTRAL ... *.paf file generator, put out by the Mormon Church for a genealogy. I downloaded the program and set it up, but it does not recognize the files. :blink:

Suggestions???
-----------------------------------

Guess what? I did download & run a copy of Badcopy on that darn damaged floppy--BUT, this was when the floppy drive wasn't recognizing my floppies. So, maybe it's worth another try--although the Manager of [computer store were PC was recently purchased] did say he ran a software (don't know which one) to try to fix the floppy without success. He was able to find out that 3% of the data is damaged on the disk.