Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Just set up my network . But it seems a little slow

• Please log in to reply

duley3

duley3

• PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
I have just set up my network. This is the router that I have. I have the first pc wired and runs fine. The 2nd desktop is wireless. The speed seems a little slow. When I check it with the sftware that came with it, it never really gets above 11. I have a very good signal.

This is my first time working with a network so please bear with me a little. Could someone help me in speeding things up a little? I will post what ever info you need just let me know.

Thanks

Advertisements

Facedown98

Facedown98

Trusted Tech

• Technician
  • 2,989 posts
Hi. How fast can the wireless adapter go, assuming it's running at its best? Perhaps it can't go faster?

duley3

duley3

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
125Mbps ?? Does that sound right? Right now I'm running at 24. Mbps Is that good or not really? Like I said this is only the 2nd day of playing with networking. I will try to explain everything the best I can.

duley3

duley3

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
This is the card I have

Facedown98

Facedown98

Trusted Tech

• Technician
  • 2,989 posts
ok we'll go with that. Strange how it does that... The speed that you're running at is pretty sluggish though... Anything in the manual about this?

duley3

duley3

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip
  • 185 posts
I have been looking for hours now.. I can't really see anything.

duley3

duley3

• Topic Starter
  • PipPipPip