Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Linux

• Please log in to reply

jesse1579

jesse1579

• PipPip
  • 27 posts
I'm new to linux and trying to figure out which distribution to use. I'm looking for something that is pretty easy to load, since I'm new to this os. Any help would greatly be appreciated.

Advertisements

Bartender

Bartender

• PipPip
  • 44 posts
jesse -
Take a look at the previous posts. There are at least three people asking the same question in just the last 2 pages.
You'll see people who think Ubuntu is the best. It's been at the top of the downloads list for weeks. Others really like PCLinuxOS. SimplyMepis also rates highly. SUSE is another good one. There are others, and I hope a few people speak up with their favorites.
I'm kinda new to Linux and have only used Ubuntu. Started with Breezy (last version of Ubuntu), running Dapper now. Lots of Linux knowledge is transferrable to other distros, but now that I'm a little bit familiar with Ubuntu and comfortable poking around on Ubuntu Forums for help I keep putting off trying some others.
Even though that would probly be a good idea.
Round up 3 or 4 distros on CD's, and run them "live" so that no changes are made to your HDD. See what you think. Check out which ones seem to work best with your PC.