Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

No Sound

• Please log in to reply

jsaklas

jsaklas

• PipPipPip
  • 333 posts
First, to inform you: I am a novice; explain everything clearly and completely.

I know this problem is common and that numerous solutions have been posted; I have
tried most all, but I still have no sound. I do not have a separate sound card;
it is integral to the board (ABIT IT7 Max2).

I had sound, but after removing (with the help of a forum contributer) a complex virus/spyware that could not be removed by Norton or Spyware Doctor, I lost sound.

When I try to play, from the hard drive, an .mp3 or .mpg file, for example, I get no sound.
(I do get the video from .mpg or .wav, etc. files) I get:

"Windows Media Player cannot play the file because there is a problem with your sound
device. There might not be a sound device installed on your computer, it might be
in use by another program, or it might not be functioning properly."

When I try to play something from the RealTek player I get: "Cannot play back the
audio stream: no audio hardware is available, or the hardware is not responding.
(Error=80040256)"

From RealPlayer I get "Cannot open audio device. Another program may already be using
it. "

From the Sounds and Audio Devices in the Control Panel I have all 3 elements (Sound
Playback, Sound Recording and MIDI....) in the audio tab as: No ...... Devices.

In the Device Manager the Audio Codecs and the Legacy Drivers it says: "Device is Working
Properly," but there is no mention of any sound card.