Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

No 'Repair' option in XP setup

• Please log in to reply

AtomBomb

AtomBomb

• PipPip
  • 30 posts
Hello people, I am new to all this PC stuff so please go easy on me.

Here goes: Once I boot up both my touchpad and keyboard are frozen (totally unusable). XP boots fine and all my settings and icons etc are fine but I cannot do anything!!!

I spend the best part of yesterday cruising this forum (at work) trying to find a solution and tried them all when I got home.
New optical USB mouse is identified ok but still unusable :rofl: .
I have tried an external keyboard:no change there :blink:
Boot in to SAFE mode:exactly the same problem :whistling:
RESTORE LAST KNOW GOOD CONFIG: cannot get past logon screen to find out :help:

The keyboard works fine in the BIOS screen as I tried changing the boot order a few times, many reboots: no change :) .

I read that perhaps a XP repair would be in order and fix my problem but when following the steps given here: http://www.geekstogo...p?showtopic=138 I do not have the 'repair' option.

I also tried these suggestions here: http://michaelsteven...pairinstall.htm

I am stuck and do not really want to to a fresh install of XP at this stage.

So come on people any suggestions are greatly appreciated and I will try anything once :lol:

Advertisements

Holy Marcell

Holy Marcell

• PipPip
  • 31 posts
Hello and welcome to geekstogo,

1st:
Did you try a PS/2-Mouse, too? PS/2 is the green round input.

2nd: