Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

Mapping Network Drives over VPN

• Please log in to reply

neora

neora

• PipPip
  • 55 posts
Hi,

I'm very new to system administration and my first assignment is to make the network drives available over VPN. I ahve VPN set up all fine. When the user connects over the VPN he has to remap the network drives to use them again... Ans when he comes back to the office network(LAN) he has to remap the network drives again... I have made a bat file with net use commands for this. The problem now is that the solution is not consistent and today the user cannot log in at all.. when using netuse to map the network drives it's asking for a log on and when given, it is rejected. But the user can reach the resources thru network places. Another thing is that since the server could not be reached using the servername, therefore I had tried to use the UNC pathname to map drives. But anyways.. ryt now... nothing's working and i'm going crazy. This has been an on going process... myself and the user trying to fix the problem. Is WINS a solution??? If yes.. how do i go about enabling that??

Any help would be appreciated with utmost gratitude... really.... :whistling:

Thanks a lot.

Neora

ps: server=win2k3, client=winxp

Edited by neora, 11 October 2006 - 06:11 AM.

Advertisements

neora

neora

• Topic Starter
  • PipPip
  • 55 posts
hope somebody is working on it... hmmmmm i've been pulling my hair on this for days now.... there is something really stupid that i'm doing or not going... hmmmmmm :whistling: :blink: