Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

i want efficient protection but i don't want a slower machine

• Please log in to reply

newONpc

newONpc

• PipPip
  • 18 posts
Greetings.
I'm new to all this.
I have suffered a virus or what-not that is being resolved in the "malware forum".
Before sending in my "highjack this" logfile, I downloaded so many programs I don't know what to keep anymore.
I have noticed slower performance (start up pf computer, opening websites etc)

Basics: I have windows XP with service pack 2. Auto-update selected.

Pertinent programs I have:

ZoneAlarm version:6.5.737.000
McAfee VirusScan Pro Version 10.0 with spamkiller Auto-update selected.
Hijack This 1.99.1
AVG Anti spyware 7.5 Auto-update selected.
CCleaner
PandaActive scan
Spybot Search & Destroy 1.4
SafetyAlerter 2006 (dont know what this is)
VirusBurster 6.2 (dont know what this is)
Ad-Aware SE personal
Mozilla1.5.0.4
IE version 6.0.2900.2180

The things i have read say to use more than one anti virus program reduces the efficiency...I don't know what to keep, what to delete. I must admit i don't know the difference between anti-virus/spam/spyware/adware....

I lived in blissful ignorance until i got the "bug"...

Does anyone have advice?
Does anyone have a good routine they use to keep updated and protected?

I thank you SO MUCH, in advance.

Advertisements

pip22

pip22

Trusted Tech

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,663 posts