Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

A Dual problem - Now partly resolved, however ...

• Please log in to reply

Sure

Sure

• PipPip
  • 25 posts
I got the issue of data recovery resolved: thanks to the freeware 'PC Inspector' - www.pcinspector.de/file_recovery/UK/welcome.htm. This wonderful freeware helped me in recovering almost all the data from the win2k drive! I could also retrieve almost 635 MB data in the ‘winNT’ folder. Now I have a technical curiosity (please note: I am not a computer expert, but I have immense curiosity and love for this gadget). Is it possible to get any help from this recovered 'winNT' system folder data (anything to do with ‘start-up disk’ or Registry repair or any such issues), so as to put the old drive back on track? Currently I have no other resource (e.g. Windows XP or Win 2K CD), except a PC with ‘win98’ system.

(Previous Posting:
Help please! I have a dual problem.
I had Windows 2000. Recently, I installed a popular spyware-removal program and cleaned the PC. The desktop became inactive after I exited program. I shut down PC through alt-ctrl-del. Now if I start the PC. the booting takes place only upto 'Windows Starting....', the blocks get filled up and then the Computer shuts down, and then restarts. This keeps on happening endlessly. It did not respond to any of the choices of starting with 'F8'- it simply continues to shut down and restart. The system info with 'F10' showed 'HD 10 GB; RAM 128 MB'.