Welcome to Geeks to Go - Register now for FREE

Need help with your computer or device? Want to learn new tech skills? You're in the right place!
Geeks to Go is a friendly community of tech experts who can solve any problem you have. Just create a free account and post your question. Our volunteers will reply quickly and guide you through the steps. Don't let tech troubles stop you. Join Geeks to Go now and get the support you need!

How it Works Create Account
Photo

can't get rid of virus and confused

• Please log in to reply

foryouising

foryouising

• Pip
  • 2 posts
hey all,

i'm new to hear, but i thought i'd give this a shot cause i can't seem to figure out this virus that's attacking my computer.

there are balloons on the bottom right that pop up saying "critical system error" or "security alert" and whenever i click on my internet explorer it takes me to some security alert webpage instead of google like it used to. also, i get stupid [bleep] pop ups randomly and my internet freezes up or goes to "page cannot be displayed." i have no clue how to get rid of it. i've tried ad-aware, system mechanic 6, and a couple other things that were put on my computer last time i had a virus.

if you know what i can do to get rid of this virus please let me know it would be greatly appreciated!!!

thank you!

felicia

Advertisements

Flrman1

Flrman1

Malware Assassin

• Retired Staff
  • 6,596 posts
Hi foryouising

Welcome to GTG! :whistling:

Please do this:

* Click here to download HJTsetup.exe
  • Save HJTsetup.exe to your desktop.
  • Doubleclick on the HJTsetup.exe icon on your desktop.
  • By default it will install to C:\Program Files\Hijack This.
  • Continue to click Next in the setup dialogue boxes until you get to the Select Addition Tasks dialogue.
  • Put a check by Create a desktop icon then click Next again.
  • Continue to follow the rest of the prompts from there.
  • At the final dialogue box click Finish and it will launch Hijack This.